12 teams selected for the ECOWAS research grant

On 27 April 2020, ECREEE and Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS), represented by its Regional Programme on Energy Security and Climate Change in Sub-Saharan Africa, launched the 2nd cycle of the ECOWAS Research Grant Program.

Teams of young energy researchers were invited to submit proposals for policy research in any of the energy fields: energy technologies, energy finance, energy economics, energy policy, energy and the environment/climate change, energy and development, energy law etc.

In order to cover the expenses from carrying out the research, teams could apply for a grant amount of not more than €1500.

At the end of a 2-stage evaluation process, 12 research teams were selected to receive the award. Below are the team leaders and their research topics:

  1. Mr Kadjo Boua Sidoine (Cote d’Ivoire)  – A SWOT Analysis of the Renewable Energy Market in Cote d’Ivoire;
  2. Ms Ginette Bosse (Cote d’Ivoire) – Energy transition and structural transformation of ECOWAS economies;
  3. Ms Irekpita Okukpon (Nigeria) – Tackling Nigeria’s energy poverty through Sustainable Waste-To- Energy Initiatives;
  4. Mr Chigozie Nweke-Eze (Nigeria) – Voluntary programs for air pollution mitigation, renewable energy technology adoption and industrial competitiveness in Lagos-Nigeria;
  5. Mr Thierry Odou (Niger) – Impact of COVID-19 on Electricity Supply-Demand over West-Africa;
  6. Mr Babajide Sokeye (Nigeria) – The Impact of existing policies on energy consumption patterns in off-grid rural households in Nigeria;
  7. Ms Enobong Ebitu (Nigeria) – Renewable energy and economic transformation of developing countries: inward approach to Sub-Saharan Africa;
  8. Mr Arnold Amanor (Ghana) – Local content and local participation in Ghana: the case of women and the youth;
  9. Mr Al-Amin Bugaje (Nigeria) – Nigeria’s Vision 30:30:30 and beyond: Exploring the Techno-Economic and Environmental Implications;
  10. Mr. Chimaobi Nna (Nigeria) – Policy to improve energy access by enhancing energy management in government buildings in Nigeria;
  11. Mr. Gideon Ofosu-Peasah (Ghana) – Energy security in west africa from the perspective of nationally determined contributions: evidence from 3 countries;
  12. Mr. Patricio Andrade (Cabo Verde) – Developing a platform for the techno-economic analysis of solar PV water pumping systems in West Africa.

The successful research proposals were those that proved to be ambitious and innovative, and aimed at generating new knowledge for decision making.

The proposals were selected based on:

1) Scientific quality of the proposed research

2) Policy relevance

3) Competency level of the research team

The Research Grant Program is part of the ECOWAS initiative on Youth Leadership Development in Energy, which works to prepare the region’s young men and women to become globally competitive energy leaders in the future. Aligned with the initiative’s objective, the Research Grant Program aims to build and strengthen the capacity of young West Africans to contribute and participate actively in the energy discourse at the national and regional levels and, thus, ensure that the youth has a say in the way energy development is shaped in West Africa.

This aligns with the mission of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung to improve the political and social framework for climate friendly sustainable development, as well as stronger regional and international cooperation on energy security and climate adaptation/mitigation plans in the countries of Sub-Saharan Africa.

For more information, contact: media(at) ecreee.org